Hi, also Meds and Eating

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      LillyRose04
      Participant

Hi, so this is my first time posting stuff. I am in my later years of high school and was diagnosed with ADHD in first grade and have been on meds since second grade. I want to make a film about what I have been going through with ADHD that no one talks about because before 3 days ago no one really told me that so many other things in my life were affected by my ADHD and I have never had proper therapy for my disorder. My parents are both doctors and love me but I take meds (which eliminates any appetite) to do school and then we really don’t mention the ADHD at all, so no one told me that things like my lack of motivation where not just me being lazy.

So the reason I am writing this is because despite what I have looked up I have not really found a lot on my specific problem and I was wondering if it happened to anyone else. I have been taking meds since I was 8 and at that age when you don’t want to eat you don’t and no one at school or really tried to tell me how important it would be to eat regularly especially because of my ADHD. This became particularly bad in middle school (also because of all of the other stuff that happens in middle school) because I was not eating at all during the day, most days, not even breakfast, I started to have sports daily, and then I would get hungry at night like super hungry it would not come until late and then I would overeat. I would feel so much shame because my dad would say you can’t/shouldn’t eat past 9:00.