Gulp! Recently Unemployed – Weighing Options (with Concern)

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Getting Things Done Gulp! Recently Unemployed – Weighing Options (with Concern)

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      politicalgal
      Participant

I am new here, and was grateful for finding this site.

I am moderate ADD (take Vyvanse), and struggling to find a direction in my employment.

I was a Full Charge Bookkeeper for a company for over 14 years until it recently closed. I have applied to many positions, but believe that I am either overqualified or that there are too many applicants.

I am a (50 year-old) hands on learner, and it takes me a while to learn things. I am actually afraid to continue to pursue an accounting field position because of the challenges in learning and the demands for detail (online tests for assessing detail really shocked me). In my youth,

Previously, I had tried being a Special Education teacher, but was not trained (mentor didn’t “mentor”), I became burned out very quickly, and, I had not been diagnosed with ADD.

I am a NATURAL with children and teens (mentor teens in foster care), and I thought of doing substitute teaching, but with the COVID-19 situation, who knows what kind of substitute teaching opportunities there will be.

I have been asked to come to a second interview at a CPA firm tomorrow. Have been told that there would be lots of tax training and “Sherlock Holmes” monitoring of various clients files to find where they screwed up. I don’t believe I can do it (but wondering if I am being hard on myself).

People have told me that the diagnosis of “ADD” is a disability and that I should declare it to companies when completing application forms. I have also heard that companies can get “credit” for hiring people with disabilities. I would have thought that if a company saw that a candidate needed accommodations in accounting/office work that they wouldn’t even think of hiring that candidate.