Graduate school and comorbid conditions

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Graduate school and comorbid conditions

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      kellymcnam.1994
      Participant

Hi!! I thought maybe sharing my story could help others. This is my first time posting here. I am A 25 (going on 26 and about to lose health insurance…) year old female. I’ve struggled my whole life but wasn’t diagnosed with anything until 19/20.

My current struggles are auditory processing disorder, inattentive ADHD, severe OCD (but now being treated successfully), eating disorder, depression, anxiety, ptsd/trauma, skin picking disorder (still really struggling with this one)…

It’s taken a lot of years, and many doctors and therapists as well as an audiologist to get to this point. I’ve done inpatient treatment and psychiatric hospitalization.

I recently started graduate school— a master of fine arts in creative writing (fiction is my concentration). I love to write— it’s the one time I hyperfocus. It makes me really happy.

I’m wondering though if I should try to get academic accommodations (as I had in undergrad)? Thoughts?

My meds mix, in case anyone was wondering:
      Anafranil (OCD)
      Abilify (mood disorder slash depression)
      Strattera (ADHD)
      Vyvanse (ADHD/binge eating)
      Clonidine (anxiety and ADHD?)
      Lithium carbonate (mood and depression)

I hope that I can give someone hope— school and life is doable, with the right treatments!

Accentor
      Participant

I made the mistake of telling a few people about my diagnosis when I was in grad school and it resulted in a group of people who would harass me and damage my reputation. Complaining about the harassment just resulted in trouble at the university health center. It seems to me that adhd in adults is not respected in an academic setting.

Penny Williams
      Keymaster