Girls with ADHD, what do I do?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Relationships Girls with ADHD, what do I do?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      MenialLiving
      Participant

Hi everyone,

Firstly, I apologise straight up because this will be a long read. I was never confident with my writing skills either so I won’t be offended if you want to click away. I just want to talk to someone.

So I have been talking to a guy with severe ADHD for a few years now. We hung out every now and then but we used to text every day – we talked about our goals, our thoughts, the demons we had faced and the scars they’d left. I was even afraid we’d run out of things to say, but we never did. We were both very comfortable with each other and had formed a deep bond because of this.

Of course, there were moments when we were confused about what we were – something we would confess a few times in the years we’ve known each other. I tend to be the one to bring up these awkward topics since I do believe communication is important in any sort of relationship but I still feel very anxious and naggy about it. Anyway, we decided to stay friends since he was diagnosed much later than I was and he wanted to focus on getting his career together before jumping into any sort of commitment outside of it.

I know there are challenges associated with being in a relationship (platonic or romantic) with someone who has ADHD. I read forums and studied the topic so I could understand the disorder for him well before I found out I had ADHD myself. For instance, there were a lot of times when he proposed the idea of catching up, only to result in him not managing his time well enough to make it. It hurt, and I would tell him, but I did understand.