Getting Your Child to Calm Down During Explosive Meltdown

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Parents Getting Your Child to Calm Down During Explosive Meltdown

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 16 replies, has 16 voices, and was last updated by  Danny 1 week ago.

• Author

Amanda Marshall
    Participant

Hi All,

This is my first time posting a topic in the community. I have read so many good topics that I am hoping this one will help.

My son is 7 years old and can be extremely explosive. When he is explosive his swears, hits, kicks, throws things, etc. I can handle the swearing. In fact, I just ignore it. But how do I get him to stop the kicking and hitting, he does it HARD and it hurts. I am also afraid he is really going to hurt someone one day – like my 66 year old mother.

He has been diagnoses with ADHD, mild ODD, anxiety and SPD. He is on 3 different medications to help him through each of these.

We have tried to leave him alone in a room but he just chases after you. We would lock him in his room but we can’t get him to go upstairs on his own and carrying him isn’t a long term solution. Suggestions on how to calm him down?

How have you overcome this challenge?

e.buchanan45
    Participant

Hi has your son been diagnosed with anything? So sorry your going through this is the right place to get support and answers you need if you haven’t taken him to a therapist to rule out any symptoms that would be your best place to start also try some incentives to give him when he does something positive and give him praises also use a timer when he’s doing something and needs to finish up. When he hits and throws things he must have a consequence but only for a short duration and then explain to him why he has a consequence. Lastly when watching television what is he watching? That may be a key reason also and he may think it’s normal behavior but using it as a teaching moment to talk about thinking and feeling and right and wrong. Hope this helps