Frustrations of figuring out treatment

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Emotions & Shame Frustrations of figuring out treatment

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  hayes 1 week, 1 day ago.

• Author

bullitt031
    Participant

I’m 32, I’ve had a pretty good idea I was ADHD all my life. My parent’s didn’t think so though, and my dad just kept saying that he had the same problems and I just needed to try harder.

He was a C student. I was an A student. I was smart enough to compensate in school. 10 minutes of paying attention was all i needed to understand the material. I struggled with remembering homework assignments and projects though.

I struggled in college as well. I started out as Pre Med, a double biology and chemistry major because that’s what the smart kids do. I loved math. Took Calculus my first semester (a junior level course) and had an A in it. But i was failing biology because i couldn’t memorize the endless lists of classifications. I couldn’t keep up.

After a year, i switched to nursing. I felt like a dropout, and a lot of my friends who were in pre-med with me told me just that. Once in nursing school, we took a psychology class. I asked my professor about ADHD. He was nice enough to let me come to his practice and screen me. He told me I was definitely ADHD. Told my parents. They took me somewhere else for a second screening, who confirmed. Finally!!!

The second guy couldn’t prescribe, so he sent me with a report to get meds elsewhere. Had trouble finding a doctor to give me meds. When I finally did, they put me on Strattera. No amphetamine salts. I get it. I’m in college at this time, high risk for abuse. So I started taking it. I changed my whole personality. My grades went up a letter and I was far better at school, but my fiance told me how much I had changed on the meds.