First post ever. Recent Graduate. Confused and Need guidance.

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Treating Your ADHD First post ever. Recent Graduate. Confused and Need guidance.

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      jrw09e
      Participant

I’m a recent graduate of Florida State. I always excelled in my academic work, and never struggled with “school work” or passing classes my entire life….EXCEPT…it took me 2 extra years to graduate college. It’s not like I wasn’t understanding the material; I was just more and more lost, as I was about to graduate. I stalled myself because all of these feelings of “uneasiness”, which came out of nowhere. It made me feel inadequate and diseased to a certain extent. I understand that I’m not incapable of doing things, I just had a rush of “WTF” at a crucial time in my life. I needed to gain answers, but at the same time I had no idea what was happening to myself internally.

I always thought I knew what I wanted to do, but with graduation creeping closer and closer, the more self doubt i possessed which led me into depression. I’ve struggled with this depression for quite some time now…The good news is….I’m not depressed or ashamed of myself anymore…the bad part is..I’m still not answering these internal questions as to… “why I am I still struggling with making decisions, and why is it so hard to stick to decisions I make.”

I view decisions big and small, like I’m about to be enslaved by something. I understand that it’s totally irrational, but within myself it reins true. I’m wanting to go into commercial real estate, because that’s what I want to do and would be great at. I have experience working for my dad, but complimented my older age, it makes me seem like I’m a “Leper” amongst candidates.This could be all internal, I’m just being transparent as to how I feel.