Finding pros in rural areas

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Women & Girls Finding pros in rural areas

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      AutumnDraidean
      Participant

So I’m beginning to think about getting help for my ADD and I used the handy dandy lookup and got nothing. Lots of help, good help for kids, but nothing for me that’s within a reasonable distance (90 minute drive) I looked in my own community and in Burlington VT and nothing, I tried looking in Montreal and got nothing. Does this website search outside the US?

I will be looking at all the strategies, some I already use, others are new. I am very apprehensive about meds Rx’d by a primary care doctor, yet all the psychiatrists up here are drowning in very ill patients as opposed to functional adults looking to improve quality of life. I’m a nurse and I’m comfortable with self advocacy, I sometimes have the problem of a little knowledge being less than helpful. Do other adults in rural areas face this problem, how have you solved it?

Penny Williams
      Keymaster

The ADDitude Directory is not all-inclusive. Try asking your primary care physician for a referral to a psychiatrist or call your insurance and ask for psychiatrists who are covered in your area. Sometimes folks in rural areas have to drive an hour or more for specialized ADHD care.

You may find that an ADHD Coach would be appropriate for helping you develop strategies. ADHD Coaches work via online video calls (like Skype) and phone, so your rural location would not be an issue.

FAQ About ADHD Coaching

Penny
      ADDitude Community Moderator, Author & Mentor on Parenting ADHD, Mom to teen w/ ADHD, LDs, and autism

AutumnDraidean
      Participant

How are listings gathered? Are they curated in any way?

Maybe I’ll talk to my Primary…Next September, because I’m on high deductible insurance and I’m unwilling to make a special appointment.

Edited to add, I don’t use Skype, My internet isn’t up to the challenge.