Feeling Set up to Fail at Work

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Feeling Set up to Fail at Work

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Srrice
      Blocked

My boss is aware of my ADHD and has been helpful and understanding as her son has it. I work as a tax account and during the busy season I have to really put in a lot of effort to be able to keep up with my co-workers productivity levels. But I have just been informed that I am in charge of 3 interns this tax season. I have done this before and they took that responsibility away from me as I couldnt keep up with my own workload and I basically fell on my face hard. This is the first year where i felt like I could do well. I have been working with my therapist on how to organize my to do lists and schedule to minimize my ADHD symptoms. But helping interns means constant unpredictable interruptions and a lot of stopping in the middle of things while being expected to keep up my workload. I have already told my boss that I did not want to help the interns because it is too much for me, but I am still stuck with the interns.

I feel like I am set up to fail and i dont know what to do to prevent it. My already damaged self esteem at work cannot take another brutal hit by getting another bad annual review. I am trying so hard just to keep up and I am feeling like its not even worth the stress and effort to try anymore.

General Chow
      Participant