16 years on Adderall

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  cherrin456 19 hours, 52 minutes ago.

• Author

cherrin456
    Participant

Hello,

I am new to this page, but I am not new to taking Adderall. I am hoping that somebody here has had the same issues or similar issues as myself. I have been prescribed medication for ADD for 16 years. I have taken Adderall, Adderall XR, Concerta, Daytrana, Stratera, and Vyvanse so basically almost everything on the market. I am currently taking the instant release Adderall (amphetamine salts) 20mg twice a day.

Anyways to make a long story short my medicine does not seem to be working. I feel that I need it just to have the energy to get out of bed. I do not feel motivated or focused while taking it. Anger is basically the only emotion that I feel. I am tired all the time. All of this has been going on for about 6 years. Now I have an even bigger issue. I was a healthy weight for the first 14 years or so after starting this medication. I always made myself eat in high school in order not to lose so much weight that I looked sick. I am 5’5″ and my weight stayed around 115-125lbs from the age of 13-26. Then in the last year and a half or so I started noticing I was gaining weight and I was gaining it fast. I went from 127-135 in less than 2 months.

I started dieting at that point… 800-1000 calories a day with less than 20% fat calories total for almost 2 months. I didn’t lose ANYTHING! In fact I gained 2 more pounds. Then in January of 2019 I weighed in at 140.. by March I was 156. I then started taking TruVision, changed my diet, and prayed for a miracle. I ended up losing 4 pounds after 3 months of this regimen, but I felt terrible and I wouldn’t call 4 pounds a miracle! Now today only 2 months down the road I weighed in this morning and I am up to 162!