Evening "Med Crash" Struggles

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Parents Treating Your Child Evening "Med Crash" Struggles

Viewing 17 reply threads
  • Author
      TraumaMama
      Participant

I’m new to this whole ADHD, thing. When I went through the process to adopt my daughter, they taught me about Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, Reactive Attachment Disorder and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. They didn’t say a darn thing about ADHD (which is odd because it usually accompanies FASD). As it turns out, my daughter has all of the above. We are working really hard and have come a LONG way with her other diagnosis, but the ADHD has been kicking our butts. She is not hyperactive but struggles more with the impulse control and is very defiant. Because of her attachment issues, her behaviour is always directed at me. She will lick me, paw at me, pull my hair, poke and prod me, talk back constantly, ignores my requests… etc.

She has been on Concerta for a while now and it is night and day. She is a kid I actually want to be around and in fact, quite enjoy! She is also doing much better at school, both academically and behaviourally. But, in the morning before it kicks in and the evening as it is wearing off, her behaviour goes back to really awful and she also struggles to fall asleep. I love my daughter to pieces, she is the light of my life, but lately I am finding myself burnt out, spiteful, resentful and unable to control my own frustrations, yelling at her all of the time, doing neither of us any good.

I have an appointment with her Paediatrician in a couple of weeks and wanted to ask about a drug that is round the clock. I did some googling and read that non-stimulants like Straterra and Wellbutrin are 24 hours and can be taken in combination with the Concerta.