Does anyone here talk to themselves?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Getting Things Done Does anyone here talk to themselves?

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Penny Williams
      Keymaster

This discussion was originally started by user ADHDwilliam in ADDitude’s now-retired community. The ADDitude editors have included it here to encourage more discussion.

and by that I mean Thinking out Loud, saying whatever’s on your mind 24/7 (even in public), but to the casual observer, it can be mistaken for talking to yourself.

Okay first tl;dr backstory time:
      (you probably won’t read this part anyway, but you totally should)
      I work as a Dishwasher, and I deal with a lot of what y’all seem to like to call “overwhelm” (seen it in a few posts) especially on Sunday’s when it gets REALLY busy which causes Me to get (as one therapist put it) “Keyed-up” and trigger my “self-talk” (notice the quotations)
      <—-end of TLDR back story—->

(also I’m kinda wishing Firefox would stop crashing on me, right now)

Anyways the other day at work, it happens, and My Shift Leader (whom I “tolerate”) passes by and tells Me (all pissed off-like, as usual) to shut up and stop talking to myself. (it’s how I concentrate) and I ask Her candidly “do you have a problem with the fact that i ‘talk to myself’, as you like to put it?” and she answers with “If it’s coming from You, then the answer is Yes.”

WTF? right? I’m a little offended at this point, even though i probably shouldn’t be.

So then I’m like — “So you have a problem with my disability” and she quickly answers “no”
      and then I’m like — “Well you seem to have a problem with part of it.” and that seemed to shut her up cause she walks off all half-cocked back to whatever she was doing, going on about how she doesn’t care if it offended me.

Allison Russo
      Keymaster

This reply was originally posted by user Bob@addventurecoaching.com in ADDitude’s now-retired community.