Do i have adhd?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Do i have adhd?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  ADHDmomma 5 months ago.

• Author

jss123
    Participant

As a child I would keep running, playing, jumping and banging into walls or keep on talking that the other person got tired. Didn’t do too well in school. I enjoyed maths but not mental maths or calculations kept on making the same silly mistakes again and again and never completed my assignments on time. Exams were the worst sometimes when I didn’t want to give a exam I would just do the questions I found interesting and either leave the rest or mark any of the options. I fidget a lot to with my hair and chew on my fingers. I always skip to the interesting problems and then do the rest. My concentration isn’t to good. Sounds are the most distracting.
    Just want to know if i have adhd or am i just lazy?

SOWILI
    Participant

Though I am no professional, what you described sounds like normal child behavior to me. Running, playing, and jumping are all things most kids do when they’re young. You also explained that you “didn’t do most of your work or didn’t like to”, to me that sounds like you weren’t interested in learning which isn’t out of the ordinary for most children. Before I was diagnosed, my teachers used to get really frustrated with me because I would walk around the classroom, never finish my work, and I was always daydreaming. I wouldn’t say you were lazy or that you had ADHD. I think you just didn’t have activities and teachers that were boring to you, so you didn’t want to pay attention.
    But like I said, I’m no professional. If you’re really curious you can always go check with a doctor.

JWK
    Participant