Do I ask my 22yr old to leave or let him stay?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Parents Do I ask my 22yr old to leave or let him stay?

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      vsmciver
      Participant

Hi all, not sure where you all are from but i live in New Zealand, this is my first time here and i find myself sitting in front of my computer crying my eyes out as all this hits home so hard. My son is 22 yrs old and is the most beautiful young man. he would do anything for you if you asked but would forget within two seconds if the games were on or TV or (now) his phone games. I’m at my wits end trying over the last 3 years, to get him to take the next step in life and get a job and become independent. He has done 4 training courses and passed only one. he had one job interview for the best job (horticultural trainee) and he said barely anything in the interview. he has ADD and anxiety. I’m a solo mum of 4 children and i can’t afford to have him unemployed and living with me. We have discussed his needs and he wants a job and the money to go with it but his anxiety and ADD just gets in the way. He has been training for a horticultural level 4 certificate and i find out that he is now going to fail it. we discussed at the beginning of the year that he would have to move out if he failed yet another course and he could stay if he passed and he agreed to it, ( this was to be an incentive to stay if he passed). now that the year is up and he has failed i’m not sure i can follow through. he spends some evenings over night on friends couches and sometimes i don’t see him for 4 days. i’m terrified that he is going to get into drugs and get hurt. he is very socially naive and will do just about anything for his “friends”. when he is home he plays computer games and PlayStation and since i have taken these away (due to him failing) he has got a game on his phone he plays from getting up to while in bed going to sleep.