Difference in effect dextro-amfetamine and methylphenidate

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Treating Your ADHD Difference in effect dextro-amfetamine and methylphenidate

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      AnnaNL
      Participant

Hello everybody!

I’m dealing with a dilemma. Recently my lovely dextro-amfetamine got replaced by some brand name rubbish and I’m had to switch. (I live in the Netherlands and the medical system is weird, but basically there is no way to get my old medication). The replacement literally does nothing for me. I don’t have any other options when it comes to dextro-amfetamine, so I’m considering trying methylphenidate (ritalin). I am in my last year of uni so VERY busy,so I can’t really mess around with medication because if it doesn’t work I’m basically doomed. That’s why I am asking for help. I am aware that it works differently for everyone, but I would like to get a rough idea.
      If you have used both methylphenidate and dextro-amfetamine, what were the pros and cons in how they worked? There are a few things I find particularly important, my old dextro-amfetamine did these all:
      Stimulant effects, I have a combined sleeping disorder and depend on the medication to wake up. I need extra energy throughout the day as well.
      Mental effects, I have depressive symptoms and I would like to feel a little better.
      Mostly I need motivation. With my old dex I would take it, and then literally get excited about doing homework and FINISHING IT. Now I just can’t bring myself to do it.
      So if you have anything to say at all about this, please let me know. How do dextro-amfetamine and methylphenidate compare when it comes to energy, motivation and mental effects?
      Thanks in advance!

Penny Williams
      Keymaster