Diet and Managing ADHD Symptoms

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Diet and Managing ADHD Symptoms

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      blair.lowndes
      Participant

Hi Everyone,

Due to some stomach issues, my doctor recommend that I go sugar, gluten, alcohol and dairy free for a period of 6 months to determine triggers. So far I’ve been eating this way for the last 2 months and I have to say that I feel incredible and discovered that sugar and simple carbs were causing a lot of my stomach issues. At the same time, I’ve noticed that my ADHD symptoms on this diet are a lot more manageable and I feel a lot calmer, in fact many people have commented. It’s also improved my relationship with my wife. In the past I’ve suffered from constant hyper activity, being unable to focus, mood swings, thrill seeking, constantly cutting people off/interrupting, anxiety and nervous energy/fidgeting etc. and all have decreased dramatically. All of my symptoms are still there but not as severe (thank God it hasn’t affected by hyper-focus). If I had to put a number on it, I’d say 35 to 40% better on average and I have gone off all medication (too many side effects). I also no longer require caffeine and those 3:00 pm afternoon lulls are nonexistent. I would HIGHLY recommend giving up sugar and gluten to other people and hope that you receive the same results. I still have my hyper-activity days but no where near as bad. Also a bit of daily exercise and meditation helps.

Foods I’ve given up:
      -all forms of sugar unless its natural sugars such as fruits, honey, maple syrup, Stevia, Xylitol etc. but I still don’t have too much of those either. I also really have to read food labels for hidden cane sugar/derivatives as it’s EVERYWHERE and it’s a bit of a pain eating out at times.