Denial and flip flopping – help!

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Spouses & Loved Ones Denial and flip flopping – help!

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Sun20
      Participant

Hi Community,
      This is my first time posting and I really need some help here.
      I have been married for eight years and we are currently struggling in our marriage big time with my husbands untreated ADHD. My main issues with it are the explosive rages, build up of irritability, lack of empathy, hyper focus on everything except the family, weed addiction and inability to drive the speed limit. We have a family and I am at my limit. I will not bring up our child being exposed to that kind of anger anymore. I have put my foot down and need to see some change as he seems to have escalated in his symptoms in the last six months (I think this is as his work has taken over and become 24/7 in the last year).

For the last four months I have been trying to get an official diagnosis and insist he pursues treatment. After three appointments the psych is confident he at least has ADHD and ODD though wants to see him stop weed before confirming and of course treatment. I feel like we’re going through the washer with his denial. Any tips?
      > my husband flip flops between acknowledging there is a problem and then denying it – why does this happen?
      > he continues to blame me and our relationship for his problems and can’t see that what he is doing is hurting others. He hasn’t really ever taken responsibility for his anger and can’t see there’s a problem properly.
      > he needs to stop smoking weed in order to get a full diagnosis and try medication- again he flip flops between saying he wants to stop and then saying he doesn’t want to stop smoking weed.
      > he makes out like he’s doing me a favour attending the appointments to see the psychologist and keeps cancelling or pushing out the times