Can't find the right job

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Emotions & Shame Can't find the right job

This topic contains 9 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Patrick 6 months ago.

• Author

I am so frustrated. I have tried different careers and jobs and just can’t seem to find one I can stick with. My resume is huge because I have tried so many jobs and companies… I have a degree in Education, and right now I am substitute teaching to pass the time (sort of) while I get my certification in my current state of residence. I’ve been doing it for a month and I feel burned out already and like teaching is not something I want to get back into. I’ve tried health care, nursing school, cna work… I’m at a loss.

Big question: how does one with ADHD inattentive find an occupation they can stick with?!

ADHDmomma
    Keymaster

We all need a job that plays to our strengths and avoids areas of weakness as much as possible. That can be a bit more challenging for those with ADHD, though. The following articles offer some guidance on finding the right career path when you have ADHD:

16 Good Jobs for the Easily Bored and Consistently Creative

How to Align Your Career with Your Passions

Penny
    ADDitude Community Moderator, Author & Mentor on Parenting ADHD, Mom to teen w/ ADHD, LDs, and autism

arty.cajun
      Participant

ADHDmomma- Can you provide a link for jobs for ADHD women in their 50’s whose husbands left them after 30 years? LOL. Not easy at this age to start over in order to find a job one might love. The divorce left me behind the eight ball as it is. Present job is pretty good but not paying enough. Peace of mind pretty good but losing my active skills in case we need to relocate. Any Canadians on here? I have French Canadian root and the skills haven’t left me just yet.

Becca
    Participant