Best Job for ADHD

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Dunch22
      Participant

I am a teacher and I saw that it is recommended as a top job for people with ADHD. Anyone have any ideas or thoughts on what good careers are out there for people with ADHD? I feel like I get extremely bored, overwhelmed, and frustrated with some of the tasks involved with teaching. Some days I love it, but other days I cannot stop just browsing on my computer while the students work. Thank you!

jinxtastic
      Participant

I can only speak from experience, and not everyone would see this as a career choice (although it definitely can be) but I really enjoyed being a retail manager. There was a routine that began and ended each day, and in between was all relatively fast-paced, react-in the-moment tasks which I was always good at. Delegating tasks to employees was helpful too.
      I suppose it would ideally be a busy store or it would probably be really boring.

It had just enough structure to keep me on track but was varied enough to be interesting.. I’m sure you can find these same qualities in other professions too.

Maybe start with what you like most about teaching- what engages you the most and start there.

Good luck!๐Ÿ€

Penny Williams
      Keymaster

Here’s a list of jobs most suited for individuals with ADHD:

8 Dream Jobs for the Easily Bored and Consistently Creative

The key is to align your career with your interests and passions for the most success:

How to Align Your Career with Your Passions

Penny
      ADDitude Community Moderator, Author & Mentor on Parenting ADHD, Mom to teen w/ ADHD, LDs, and autism

SallyK
      Participant