Are there local support groups??

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Getting Things Done Are there local support groups??

Tagged: 

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      heypaul411
      Participant

for Adults with ADHD? I just turned 52 and for the umpteenth time in my adult life, I am starting over. For the past 35 years, I have lived my life using metaphorical smoke and mirrors. Those who know me think I choose to live like a perpetual Grad student because I’m not motivated by material things. They think that I make mistakes on office paperwork because I’m an absent professor type. They think I didn’t go into teaching or Academics because I don’t suffer fools well at all. The fact that I never married? well that’s because of my chronic Asthma , insecurity about my weight and a smart guy like me needs to find the right woman etc. The real answer to all the above is that I thought myself a unique kind of fraud, who was “faking it until he made it’. But the way I’m going , I’m not going to make it. I will just keep living arm length from the world, living hand to mouth until I can’t work anymore. All because I have the hardest time filling out forms and paperwork , especially Government forms, and have been too fearful too prideful to admit it. What led me here was a question to Google, “I get frustrated filling out forms and paperwork any help?” and it led me here. Just reading basic articles about the shame ADHD people live with lifted some of the weight off my shoulders. I am going to read much more and all the relevant articles. So my question, are there resources for Adults with ADHD that lists local groups and resources. Thank you for allowing me to get this out of my system. look forward to sharing questions and ideas with many of you.

Penny Williams
      Keymaster

There are support groups in some areas. Many find them difficult to come by, and sometimes start their own. Here’s more on finding support:

Your ADD Life: ADHD Support Groups