Anyone Else Diagnosed After Graduating College & Not Know What To Do Now?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Anyone Else Diagnosed After Graduating College & Not Know What To Do Now?

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      fire_moons
      Participant

Has anyone else who was diagnosed with ADHD after graduating college find any resources or organizations without a paywall that they personally found super helpful in regards to help finding a job/career path or unlearning an unhealthy work ethic that they developed while in school or just transitioning at this stage of life with ADHD? For people who have spent their whole lives with high expectations set for them before they were diagnosed, how did you guys cope? I would really love to know.

For context, I graduated college a little over a year and a half ago, and the job search for me has been a vicious cycle of finding jobs and internships where I felt like I barely meet the requirements, overcoming my anxiety and filling out the applications for the few jobs and internships that I could find, waiting, getting yelled at by my dad for not hearing back from anyone, and then falling into a depressive episode until the cycle repeats itself. My mental health has gotten so bad that over the course of that time I’ve just been in and out of some of the worst depressive episodes I’ve ever experienced, and I’ve had depression and generalized anxiety disorder since I was a child, but was untreated until college. As of this year, I started seeing a therapist regularly, and I decided to try medication again.