Any Tips for Reading Textbooks?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Penny Williams 3 months, 1 week ago.

• Author

sofia.nunez1228
    Participant

I was recently diagnosed with ADHD (within the past few months), and I’m still trying to figure out some skills to cope academically with my attention problems. I was a voracious reader as a kid, but now I can’t read a textbook for the life of me. I find myself reading the same page over and over for a half hour just trying to understand the one page, and I don’t have the time or energy to finish five pages, let alone an entire chapter. I can still read novels very easily when I find them interesting, and when the text is less interesting to me, I use audiobooks and that works out for me. I’m starting college next fall so I was hoping for some tips if anyone has any to give!!

erinblueberry
    Participant

Hi I’m a high school student and i hate reading textbooks too. What i try to do is find an online version of the textbook and then you can use accessibility features on your phone to read it to you. If you have a computer there’s a program called read and write that also can read your textbook. If you don’t want to listen to your textbook read it in very small chunks. As soon as you find that you aren’t paying attention, stop reading take a break and start reading again in a minute or two. One last option is that if you have any really close friends have them help you with reading or have them read it for you.
    Hope this helps!

Liam9638
    Participant

Cool advice is to read it out loud, add intonation, even if it is bare figures and an object or book that is of no interest to you. You will not be able to lose attention by reading out loud, and this is useful, and with a bonus you create your own mood. Reading will go slowly, but this is a real way out, believe me, I myself have come across what you are describing.

Nikcococo
    Participant