Anxiety and depression

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Anxiety and depression

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      seekaydoubleyou
      Participant

I’m 24 and I was diagnosed with inattentive ADHD about a year and a half ago. I’m in my final year of university and the whole degree has been such a struggle which is what lead me to find out that I had ADHD. I’ve struggled with anxiety and depression in the past and with all the stress of my degree and finding out about my diagnosis as an adult, my anxiety has sky rocketed and only seems to be getting worse. After focussing on ADHD for some time in therapy, we then turned to focus on my anxiety. I’ve been doing a kind of CBT and it just doesn’t seem to be helping at all. My therapist sets me sort of homework after each session such as practicing mindfulness and I feel like my ADHD gets in the way because I either procrastinate and don’t do the homework at all or I’ll practice techniques for a day or 2 and then stop doing it even if it seems to be helping. I’m even paying for a mindfulness app that im not using, along with my gym membership and everything else I’ve started and given up on. My anxiety is getting worse and worse and im starting to feel depressed and hopeless. My therapist says that she has taught me every technique there is and there’s nothing else she can do so we should end the treatment, and at the end of the day if I treat my anxiety or not is down to me because it’s all down to whether or not I do the homework and regularly practice the techniques she’s taught me at home. I don’t know why I’m not practicing the techniques or can’t seem to stick with it, which is why I think that my anxiety is to blame, but my therapist doesn’t seem to understand and I feel like she’s just giving up on me which makes me feel even more hopeless and depressed. I think if she ends the treatment my anxiety will get worse and I’ll fall into deep depression, because if therapy can’t even help me then