After being perscribed adderall for 10 years. Today my doctor drug tested me.

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Emotions & Shame After being perscribed adderall for 10 years. Today my doctor drug tested me.

This topic contains 16 replies, has 14 voices, and was last updated by  sschoe9828@gmail.com 6 days, 2 hours ago.

• Author

Livingw/AdHd
    Participant

Today I walked into my doctors office like I have been doing every 3 months for the past 10 years to get my adderall prescription. After the typical questions were asked. I was presented with a paper in which I needed to sign in order to get my prescription refilled. I was in shock. This was a release form allowing them to random drug test me so I can continue to get my script. This was the one place where I had always felt that I wasn’t being judged or questioned. Where I was understood and that what I have is real. Not anymore. I didn’t ask to have ADHD -I need my medication to function. I felt like I was in trouble. I felt ashamed. I started panicking. It was just a holiday weekend, I didn’t take my adderall for a few days. I like to be educated on everything I put into my body. Even though I function at my best when I take my medication, I also know the amount of stress it can have on my body. So during the work week I take it religiously on the weekends I sometimes choose not to take it. This doesn’t mean that I am abusing it or that I am selling it. It just means I didn’t take it. Sometimes I even forget to take it. Uhm hello I have ADHD I am very forgetful. I also work in a kitchen and drink like 7 -12 oz bottles of water a day. Also My blood pressure and pulse was high, they began to question me(my husband just called while I was walking into my appointment telling me he was in a car wreck) Now I look and feel like I am guilty for something I didn’t even do. Even though there would be no reason to fail except not having enough adderall in my system. I thought I wasn’t even going to pass m