Adult ADD/ADHD, is that for real? (I think it is)

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Adult ADD/ADHD, is that for real? (I think it is)

This topic contains 8 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  ThePhoenix 3 months, 1 week ago.

• Author

kw02019
    Participant

Hello, first time posting.

I have known all my life, especially after grade school, I was different.
    I am not lazy, if anything I studied hard and managed to graduate college, compare to other kids I had to work MUCH harder.
    Mundane tasks became very difficult, as simple as sorting laundries, putting things back, (hence create piles of stuff)

Many of you can relate to my situations I am sure, super speed forward, I am a woman in my fifties and recently started treatment for my ADD.
    After struggles I ended up receiving therapy by a Psychiatrist, who also helped me by prescribing medication, I have been
    taking since October last year, which made my life completely better.
    With doctor’s suggestion I follow daily exercise, making lists, using timer for task, etc…

I come across so many opinions that there is no such thing as adult with ADD/ADHD, it should have been diagnosed
    by age 7….. Well, I don’t think anyone in my age group had a chance to get diagnoses, never mind getting help. This is not some allergy
    problem some get over as they get older, as I understand, it is a life long challenge. And I do agree with that.

I noticed it’s harder to obtain medications, my insurance company says anyone over age of 23, have to have prior authorization for the
    medications I take. I realize there are many cases of abuses and insurance companies have certain obligation, I guess.

I would like to hear others with similar or opposite experiences.

whisperingwings
    Participant

This was my reply. It disappeared after I edit and tried to submit it. sorry for the trouble.

Hi kw02019,