ADHD meds, loss of appetite and body image questionos

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Women & Girls ADHD meds, loss of appetite and body image questionos

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  TraumaMama 5 months ago.

• Author

JournCats806
    Participant

Hi, newbie here. My sweet princess has ASD and ADHD. Currently, she’s on Concerta, which is doing her a world of good (her teachers are really thrilled with her work and focusing and organization when she’s taking the meds) for most parts of her life, but doing a HORRIBLE job for her appetite. All her life, I’ve been trying to keep things body positive, and not have her grow up having issues with foods due to either ASD, or emotions. I’ve always told her to eat until she feels she’s done. I let her serve herself, and she eats however much of it she decides to eat. I’ve always been that way with both of my kids…but now, the Concerta is kinda wrecking this, because now she’s NEVER hungry. She won’t eat breakfast, she barely touches her lunch at school, and she keeps telling me she’s not hungry for dinner. I KNOW these are foods she will eat, and has grown up eating. I’m not sure what to tell her. I don’t want her to worry about food, but I don’t want her going without either. Tonight I had to battle with her and ask her to please at least get a little bit of food on her plate to eat dinner tonight, because she needs her strength. She was highly upset by this, and feels like I’m going to start forcing her to eat all the time now. What do I do?

gentlygenli
    Participant