ADHD and reading

Tagged: 

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Kyle_Whitman
      Participant

Hi there, I’m new to this forum so i guess i’ll share a little about myself. I’m a sophomore in college and I was only recently diagnosed (like a week ago actually) however, I’ve known I’ve had ADHD for a very long time (specifically struggling with hyper-activity and impulsiveness.) The reason it took me so long to be diagnosed is because i’ve always made really good grades and my parents were rarely home from the time I was 12, so they couldn’t see how it was effecting me in other aspects of my life, so they didn’t think I needed to be properly diagnosed. Anyway, after going to college, I had to readjust to a completely new environment, and being very hyper-active made it difficult to make new friends (which is a shame because i’m really out-going) but the friends i did make were quickly turned off by my constant on-the-go behavior. Despite overcoming some obstacles my first semester, I adapted academically and became an honor’s student, and my second semester I made the President’s honor roll, but despite all that, I still knew I needed a change, so after a l o t of bargaining with my parent’s i finally got an appointment to see a psychiatrist, and she quickly diagnosed me, and i began taking adderall. I saw immediate changes in my self control and focus, and while i’ve always been an academically strong person, i have never been able to study or read before (I was blessed with a very good memory.) Now that my focus has improved, i’ve been trying to read, and it’s always been very easy for me to focus on things i find immediately interesting with constant changes and broad topics (such as a wikipedia article) it’s very difficult for me to read more in-depth things like books or primary sources, even though i do find them very interesting. There is so much I want to read, but I still can’t quite find the focus I need, and I was wondering if anyone else has been in