Adderall name brand vs generic

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Treating Your ADHD Adderall name brand vs generic

Tagged: 

This topic contains 43 replies, has 39 voices, and was last updated by  mch08101 1 week, 3 days ago.

• Author

X2M
    Participant

My insurance recently stopped paying for my name brand Adderall prescription. I talked to the pharmacist & they assured me that the generic was not only exactly the same medication as the name brand but also made by the same company. That was 3 months ago & although I saw very little difference at first, I can now see a steady decline in my focus & concentration. Has anyone else experienced this when switching from name brand & generic Adderall?

keward
    Participant

Yes. I am a nurse and have spent over a decade believing that name brand and generics are the same chemically. I think you are experiencing what i experienced. Being a procrastinator, i waited until i was 37 and nearly fired from my job, before i finally faced the reality of my ADD diagnosis. After a full month on Adderall (generic), my confidence was creeping up and i was feeling very productive. I was even early to meetings a few times! The next month was rocky. I filled the same kind of rx, but the generic manufacturer was different. I started to experience depression and frustration. I was literally moments away from an “F You” at work. I went back to the doctor and he looked at the medication. He said that not all generics are created equally and he had many patients that have experienced the same thing.