A guide for a healthy use of drugs

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults A guide for a healthy use of drugs

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      adhd_fuelled
      Participant

Hey, how are you doing today?

I’m a 24 y/o Male from Brasil. I work as a filmmaker and was officially diagnosed 10 days ago. But i pretty much knew since my teens. What recently made me pursue treatment was that the condition was hurting my career. A lot. It was a problem before, but i aways attributed the failures to other factors. But reevaluating my life, my behavior and past mistakes, made me realize that i would never fix my life for good if i didn’t reach for professional help. After my diagnose, my doctor prescribed ritalin 10mg 2x a day. The first day worked a little, as i didn’t daydreamed a lot, but i still coudn’t build much focus, and kept switching between tasks and losing focus on what i was doing.
      The second and third day the minimal doses didn’t worked at all.
      on the fourth day, after a bunch of research online, i found that the daily dosage could fluctuate to 20mg to 60mg per individual. Them i decided to experiment and take the daily dose in one go (20mg). Disclaimer: I know it was wrong, but i was anxious to get results, and since my doctor told that i would notice the positive effects right away, i decided to do.
      It worked wonders. It actually lasted the entire day, as i took the pills 10 am and could work and do my chores until 9pm. I could edit for hours, completed videos that was on hold for ages, and studied a lot about adhd.
      On the day after was a sunday, my “day off” As the doctor told me to take 6 times a week. Them i called him, explained the situation, and he told me to take 20mg per dosage, 2x a day.
      After this day i didn’t get much more of the same focus i got the time i took the 2 on my own.