26yo just read psych report from 15yo – Feeling hopeless

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Emotions & Shame 26yo just read psych report from 15yo – Feeling hopeless

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      crash override
      Participant

I was not quite sure how to title this discussion topic but I think that just about covers it.

Basically my parents had a “psycho-educational evaluation” performed on me when I was 15 because I started to fall short of their academic expectations for me. Before middle school I was an A student, but in middle school my grades started slipping into B territory. For highschool my parents put me into a highly competitive private college prep highschool where I was all Cs and Bs.

Of course my dad just thought I was lazy but I seriously felt as if there was something wrong with me. It doesn’t help that I come from an alcoholic home and that my dad used to scream at me (sometimes for more than an hour) and occasionally beat me (tbf this only happened one time) because of my poor academic performance. He would tell me that I would never be able to get into a good college with my grades and as a result would be poor and useless for my whole life.

I bring this up because I never saw the real results of that report. My dad seemed to think that the doctor was a quack, that I was simply lazy, and that I had someone convinced my mom to get me diagnosed with ADD to “get off easy”. The psych told me that I had ADD but then told me that medication was bad and did not work before proceeding to sell my parents on a $3000 two week course where I did “IQ boosting” exercises as a treatment (of course this was a giant waste of money).

The result of the report however are valid and I have had psychs refer to the report several times throughout college and adulthood to get medication/treatment for my ADD.