16 year old daughter being assessed for adhd and using emotional blackmail

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Parents Behavior & Discipline 16 year old daughter being assessed for adhd and using emotional blackmail

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Julieg4
      Participant

I am new to this , despite having years of experience and qualifications with younger children, I am really struggling withy teenage daughter.
      She is 16 years old and her behaviour is impulsive and controlling, she is asking for us to buy her alcohol so she can go out drinking on a park with friends. She was picked up a few weeks ago by a member of the public after drinking neat vodka and being unconscious on the floor of a park, she has got the alcohol from a friend. We repeatedly explain why we are not prepared to buy her alcohol and this causes her to threaten to harm or kill herself, she attempts to run away and messages people telling them we are being horrible. I care deeply and her harsh words are affecting the whole family, her dad, older brother and sister and younger sister, she has been assessed by CAHMS following admission to hospital but is refusing blood tests and counselling unless we meet her unreasonable demands.
      What do you suggest, I am open to suggestions and advice to help her in any way and also to help our family. I know this is going to be a long term issue but am desperate for support at the moment, manage a teen is much more challenging when I am going in blind to every situation.

Thanks for any help xxx Julie xx

Gazettechan
      Participant

I hope she gets well soon, stay strong and get a positive outlook that everything will be alright.

Kerplunk
      Participant