Reply To: Wrong career

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Wrong career Reply To: Wrong career

wendyannh
Participant

Hi, Steve,

You’ve gotten a lot of good advice here; I particularly like what Judy the vet had to say.

The ADHD brain really isn’t well-suited to what you’re trained for, but there are other areas of medicine you might find very rewarding.

As an artistic person, have you considered switching to plastic surgery? You don’t have to do face lifts and the like, you could specialize in reconstruction for people with massive burns or other injuries. That requires even more creativity, and you might find it a lot more rewarding.

Emergency medicine (and critical care) is tailor made for people with ADHD. I was a paramedic for a long time, until a back injury on the job put me out of commission. I had just happened to fall into it when I was still in college, but it was *perfect* for me. Every day is different, things change minute to minute, you often have to make important decisions with very little information, you don’t have to deal with a long term relationship with patients (or their long term care and the problems inherent in that), etc. Over and above being an ER doc, the opportunity exists for an MD or DO to be a flight doctor, where you would fly with the medical helicopter teams and treat patients in the field and en route back to the hospital.

Someone already mentioned interventional radiology. That could take you in a number of different directions.

If you really want out of medicine altogether, do consider going to a good career counselor who will administer a range of psychological and aptitude tests to come up with some suggestions.