Reply To: My 6 year old son may have ODD or..

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Parents Behavior & Discipline My 6 year old son may have ODD or.. Reply To: My 6 year old son may have ODD or..

Whatif
Participant

Please do not rule out that your child may be suffering from the Methyl-B Gene Mutation (MTHFR). Some of the symptoms you noted mirror what I had on bad days (and I’m an adult!). A simple blood or saliva (DNA) test will determine if your son has the gene mutation. Most important — it is treatable, and usually without drugs!
I’m not a doctor, and I’m not selling anything. In layman’s terms, those of us with a MTHFR gene mutation have a highly reduced ability to convert folic acid or even folate into a usable form. This in turn can reduce serotonin and dopamine levels, which can cause depression. (We have to be careful with B Vitamins.) ALSO…Several symptoms resulting from the mutation mirror other medical and mental issues such as ADD, ADHD, OCD, anxiety, depression, autism, etc. It can lay dormant and trauma, diet or stress can bring it on. I started doing as much research as I could online. A great resource I found online is Dr. Ben Lynch who states: “…I believe the MTHFR gene mutation is a highly significant public health problem that is completely ignored. Yet, millions are suffering from pulmonary embolisms, addictions, fibromyalgia, miscarriages, schizophrenia, severe depression, cancer and autism to name a few…: