Reply To: Med Refusal – Is This Reason Normal?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Parents Teens & Young Adults Med Refusal – Is This Reason Normal? Reply To: Med Refusal – Is This Reason Normal?

SkinOfMyTeeth
Participant

Hey @DdlanCATO ,

Keep in mind that I am not a doctor and have no medical training. An “observed dose” is not punishment, it’s a valid medical treatment. It’s not only used for ADD cases, but other types of treatments as well.

I can see where you’d develop a resentment over that. If the drugs had no adverse effects why would they force you to open your mouth to check that you took them. You’re old enough and most likely large enough to simple refuse to take the pill. Also, you could vomit on purpose right after taking the meds to get them out of your system.

As I said before as you get older, it will more and more a fight of wills and one you’ll figure out a way to win. Forcing you to take your meds at the school nurse’s office isn’t convincing you that taking the meds is a good idea.

I’ve been told by doctors, and this makes sense to me, there is no such thing as a “side effect”. If I take a prescribed drug for blood pressure (and I do) and it makes me dizzy, that is not a “side effect” that’s an effect of the medication.

My husband takes a medication that helps him empty his bladder easier, a “side effect” is that it lowers his blood pressure.

The same exact medication can be prescribed to lower blood pressure, and it has a “side effect” of making it easier for me to empty their bladder.

So, the same drug prescribed for two different reasons can have have two effects – it just depends on why it was prescribed which is the “side effect. Why mention this? Because any effect of a drug is an effect not a “side effect”. Some effects are “desired” some are “adverse”.