Reply To: Behavioral Therapy Not Working

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Parents Behavior & Discipline Behavioral Therapy Not Working Reply To: Behavioral Therapy Not Working

andrewk1901
Participant

More power to your son. I have always thought that the model of behavioural therapy in ADHD, and in fact the whole “executive functions model” is fragile, to say the least.

In fact, to put it more baldly than that it is effectively an extension of the teaching methods that are already failing the ADHD person- but, what the hell– “if at first something soesn’t work do it again- but louder”
Im almost 56 and despite ADHD I work as a health professional. One thing I can say very clearly is that there are many times (in fact most times) when my executive functions work extremely well.
Non ADHD individuals do not see this and do not see the times when we are functioning well and the nature of the way most people (including most professionals) see the problem is that it is relatively constant.

The behavioural reward strategy seems predicated on a model which assumes we (us ADHD individuals0.don’t know these behaviours or why they are worthwhile. Personally, I find that insulting- and I suspect your son feels the same way.

We do actually know thesebehaviours, and how and whyto use them, but sometimes we can’t access them. It makes it infuriating to then be treated as though we dont know stuff that we do- it usually gets our back up and brings out our oppositional side– which is best seen as a healthy and highly necessary ego defence.

ADHD can be conceived as a disorder of self regulation- and the most important item to be regulated is autonomic function.
Additionally the challenge of sitting in a chair and keeping enough blood flow to maintain circulation to the brain is a substantial one and if this mechanism fails we get either hyperactive, fidgety and impulsive, or worse we lapse into a state of low cerebral blood flow.