Reply To: ADHD, Anxiety and feelings

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Women & Girls ADHD, Anxiety and feelings Reply To: ADHD, Anxiety and feelings

tigger
Participant

I am including the original post for context.
<Am>SuzyQ: I have been diagnosed with ADD/Anxiety. I’ve been working with a therapist and take medication. I still struggle with calming my mind and tend to bounce around a lot, can’t relax (although it’s better than before). For me because I’m not good with my feelings its hard to tell if the bouncing around is the add or anxiety. I suspect it’s more the add, b/c I start lots of things and have difficulty staying organized, or think of something else and off I go. Sometimes, the only way I can shut my mind off is to go to sleep. Most recently my therapist has indicated that I have a difficult time “going” deeper and keep things very superficial. I’d like to have deeper relationships, but there is so much I feel the need to protect myself, which I think is more the anxiety. So confusing! Anyone else deal with this?

Yes, SuzyQ, I deal with this too. I am a female diagnosed with ADHD/Anxiety late in life. My mind is abuzz with lots of thoughts that I am unable to wrangle to let you know you are not alone. I am learning to recognize the difference between ADHD and anxiety. Going deep is very difficult. There are times that I completely shut down and cannot think or speak. How deep the conversation goes depends on how safe I feel to speak as well as the level of trust and comfort in the relationship. My anxiety level is decreasing as I learn to manage ADHD. Right now I am feeling anxious because I cannot covey quickly enough my thoughts and I need to get ready for work. Since I have recognized this I am taking slow breaths to calm myself. It is working and while there is so much more I could say I have to shift gears. Keep going with the therapy and medications. It takes time, effort, and patience.

I leave you with this: