Reply To: Financial mess and shame

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Relationships Financial mess and shame Reply To: Financial mess and shame

aerialjami
Participant

Hi ADDExhausted,

I can relate, and I’m so sorry that you’re dealing with this.
Last year, I took on a new business endeavor that ended up becoming a MultiLevel Marketing scheme. It had a lot of potential at the beginning, but the company grew so quickly that my odds of making the money that was promised were slim to none. I had gotten excited about the possibilities and knew that I needed to find a new source of income because the work I had been doing for 8 years was so physically demanding, that I could no longer work as many hours as I once had. I thought this new business was the answer. Boy was I wrong. It was one of the dumbest decisions I ever made.
Additionally, I invested about $6,000 in the initial stages, split between 3 credit cards. Almost a month in, I felt like I was drowning, but I keep believing the hype that the company was putting out – that the harder you worked the first few months, and the more inventory you have, the more you will sell and meet your goals.
I started to get behind on our mortgage. And since my husband has worse ADD symptoms than me, I’m the one that has always organized the finances and made sure the bills were paid on time. I couldn’t bring myself to tell him. I also thought that any day now, something magical was going to happen and that I’d be able to catch up. I had indicated that we were “a bit behind”, but I felt like a failure for always having to ask him for money to pay the bills, when I used to be able to contribute much more income. I didn’t want him to wonder “where is all this money going?!” So I kept juggling the phone calls and bills, paying just enough, just in time to not get any of our utilities turned off.