Reply To: Does anyone have any experience overcoming your academic history

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Does anyone have any experience overcoming your academic history Reply To: Does anyone have any experience overcoming your academic history

PeterMcG
Participant

I had a love/hate relationship with education from the day I was born. There was no way I could pay attention in any class in my elementary school. Consequentially, I couldn’t do my homework, and my grades and behavior were not good. My teachers kept telling me I was smart enough and if I would only apply myself I could go far. I ended up attending eight (8) high schools. I kept dropping out, and my mom would force me back in. My last HS was a trip, a cross between a mental institution, a prsion, a hippy commune, and a drug rehab center. I graduated but never took any classes.

Then I got into Antioch College at age 22 and everything changed. First of all, no grades. It was pass/fail. Secondly, only attendance at the first and last class of any course was required. Thirdly, they had a program that made sure that every first year student took classes on how to learn and succeed in college. I learned paper writing, studying tips and techniques, how to give a presentation, etc. etc.

Now I could learn! The lack of grades and the attendance rules meant that I could learn the content in my own time through doing the required reading. I could read the same page over and over again till I got it. Then I could follow up in the classrooms with questions. Finally, Antioch allowed me to set up my own major and actually my entire academic program. I discovered photography and designed my own educational program around that. I became darkroom manager, College newspaper Photo Editor, and took many independent study classes on techniques and creativity. I graduated.