Reply To: Inattentive ADHD type woman getting frustrated with Non-ADHD partner

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Relationships Inattentive ADHD type woman getting frustrated with Non-ADHD partner Reply To: Inattentive ADHD type woman getting frustrated with Non-ADHD partner

sandymermaid
Participant

Wow! I, seriously could have written that myself! I know exactly what you’re saying/ where you’re coming from. I don’t have answers for you but I am going to follow this to see what people have to say.

I was diagnosed in November and began Meds in Jan, 2020. I’m new to this as well.
So, my journey begins!
REALLY late in life I’ll add to that! I also married later in life than most and had my children later in life.
My head is spinning!
I was ALL about my career before family life.
I had my little defense mechanisms and coping skills down to an art! I didn’t even know I was doing them, especially not for a reason. I’m not a clean freak but I am UBER organized.
Career was my choice- I adored what I did (NASA) and my focus and attention were outside of my house- which, I’m find out now exactly WHY that was(!) … I’m not such a domestic kinda girl! My family is adding to my … frustration.
So … following! I NEED ANSWERS.

One LAST thing before I post this.
IMHO— he should support you and your endeavors (especially furthering your education- that’s a plus for the entire family in the long run. He definitely shouldn’t complain that you’re not giving him enough time. Another stressor! If you’re like me you don’t want to disappoint anyone. For me, that would be worse than being useless around the house. That’s just my opinion. Please don’t be offended … that’s not my intention.
While I’m at it …