Reply To: ODD – Is There Hope?

swvcounselor
Participant

As a therapist i have conducted ADHD evaluations using the materials of Dr. Daniel Amen for over 10 years. You can explore his information and start an evaluation on his website here https://addtypetest.com/. I found that many of my clients who exhibited behaviors like ODD or were diagnosed with ODD often suffered from Overfocused ADHD

“In order to focus, it is necessary to continually be able to shift your attention. People suffering with Overfocused ADD have most of the ADD features, but rather than not being able to pay attention (they also have difficulties with , they have difficulty shifting their attention; they become hyper-focused on certain things while tuning everything else out. These folks tend to get stuck or locked into negative thought patterns and behaviors. This type of ADD is often found in substance abusers as well as the children and grandchildren of alcoholics.

Common symptoms in Overfocused ADD

Core symptoms of ADD
Excessive or senseless worrying
Getting stuck in loops of negative thoughts
Oppositional and argumentative
Tendency toward compulsive behaviors
Difficulty seeing options
Excessive worrying
Tendency to hold grudges
Difficulty shifting attention from subject to subject
Tendency to hold onto own opinion and not listen to others
Needing to have things done a certain way or they get upset
May or may not be hyperactive
Overfocused ADD SPECT scan findings show increased activity at rest and during concentration in the anterior cingulate gyrus, as well as decreased activity in the underside of the prefrontal cortex, cerebellum and basal ganglia.”
(https://www.amenclinics.com/conditions/adhd-add/)

They often were hard to redirect even if they logically knew the consequences were bad.

These individuals exhibited a lot of anger when attempting to redirect them.
My own son also suffers from this type of ADHD and we had to fix a lot of holes in the wall together as he grew up.