Reply To: Adderall name brand vs generic

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Treating Your ADHD Adderall name brand vs generic Reply To: Adderall name brand vs generic

alexis.geiser
Participant

I am 21, a college student, and I work in the medical field. I finally came to terms with my ADHD after my last relationship ended and I realized that my ADHD sent me into manic, and emotional outbursts. I also consider myself very intelligent, and so have a majority of my teachers, and professors throughout my life, but as I am sure you all have heard the saying< “______, you need to apply yourself! You’re so smart, and could accomplish so much if you tried!” Thing is I always tried. I have always been the kid that aced exams, and even took the lead during group projects (probably because of my need for everything to be done the way I want it to be done; Someone please tell me you do the same), but I always struggled with doing classwork, and homework because I felt as if it was boring, and I’d rather stare at a wall, read a book, or draw. When I was in 4th grade, my teacher thought I had a learning disability because I had straight D’s. Since I was in private school at the time, my mom asked the public school district to intervene so I could be tested. They monitored, and tested me for 2 weeks, and came to the conclusion that I was advanced in science, math, and reading/writing, but that my teacher did not know how to teach a kid with ADHD. At 21, my current age, I went to my family doctor, and he prescribed me with Vyvanse 10mg originally. I flourished on Vyvanse. I was showing up EARLY for work, finishing school assignments, and test prep about two weeks in advance. I had a coupon the first month, so the prescription was free. My doctor thought that it would only cost roughly 20 dollars a month due to my insurance being covered by my hospital. While the insurance covered a good portion of the medication, I was still left to pay 150 a month. I am a poor colle