Reply To: 15 y/o daughter is begging to be put on ADD meds.

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Parents Teens & Young Adults 15 y/o daughter is begging to be put on ADD meds. Reply To: 15 y/o daughter is begging to be put on ADD meds.

iamlaurens
Participant

Hey there. Here’s my two cents. It’s long, but I think it will provide some insight.

Since I was a kid I wanted to be a Paramedic. I got to high school, and needless to say it was a struggle. I failed chemistry, taking only one of the two required semesters, took biology three times, finally getting a “C”, and did “alright” in Anatomy & Physiology, getting “C”s. I graduated HS with a 2.8 (this isn’t even touching the social aspects of my experience). In community college, I actually did a bit better, I think it was the freedom, and reacquainting myself with swimming and water polo. I went on to art school, got a degree in Wood/Furniture, and proceeded to adulthood. I was miserable.

Toward the end of college I finally got the ADHD diagnosis and started taking Adderall. It did help but, in hindsight, the dose was too high. I didn’t like how differently I felt, so I went off of it probably 1-2 years after that.

After flailing, trying to make it on my own, learning the adult lessons, barely making bills, being broke constantly… just an overall black hole, I decided to give an EMT certification a shot. It turned out I was good at it. I was not yet back on medication, but I did have some left over from my previous prescription, so I decided to take a smaller dose, and only when I needed it. This was the key. Let me say that again, taking just the right dose at the times you actually need it, is the key.