Reply To: I'm on diagnosis waiting list, and new to this forum.

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Symptoms, Diagnosis & Beyond I'm on diagnosis waiting list, and new to this forum. Reply To: I'm on diagnosis waiting list, and new to this forum.

mch08101
Participant

Hey,
I was trying to get diagnosed about 6 months ago here in the U.S. ( I’m not sure how it works in the UK), and I started googling places to get tested and psychiatrists that were in-network for my family’s insurance. After calling 5 different testing facilities I learned that most places had a 6-month waiting list and the test was 250 dollars and a full two-day process. I’m a fulltime college student, whose parents aren’t super into medicating mental health issues, and who don’t believe that I really have ADHD, so 250 bucks was not an option even if I could find the time. The psychiatrists that were in-network which there was only two close had the same 250 dollar fee. I finally decided to just go and see a General practitioner and see what they could do. I found a great nurse practitioner who took in all the information I gave her and then gave me a 15 min self-assessment test, which confirmed her opinion that I have mild ADHD. It was so much cheaper, and way less of a hassle to start trying medication to help. I actually made a 3.9 GPA last semester with the hardest classes and schedule I have had yet! My anxiety and sleep have improved too! So, if you have the option of going to see a GP without it being too expensive I would recommend that route because not only do they give you a diagnosis but they help you find a treatment plan that works for you.