The ADHD Explosion: The Facts Behind the Rapid Rise in Diagnosis

Join us for the expert webinar hosted by Stephen Hinshaw, Ph.D., on Tuesday, May 6, 2014 at 1 PM Eastern Time.
ADDitude Webinars | posted by ADDitude Editors
Stephen Hinshaw Headshot 120px

Join Stephen Hinshaw, Ph.D., as he hosts The ADHD Explosion: The Facts Behind the Rapid Rise in Diagnosis webinar on May 6, 2014, from 1 p.m. to 2 p.m. Eastern Time (12 p.m. to 1 p.m. CDT and 10 a.m. to 11 a.m. PDT). Stephen Hinshaw, Ph.D., is professor of psychology at the University of California, Berkeley, where he served as Department Chair from 2004-2011, and is vice chair of Psychiatry at the University of California, San Francisco. Dr. Hinshaw has written nine books, including The ADHD Explosion: Myths, Medication, Money and Today’s Push for Performance.

In this free webinar, Dr. Hinshaw will address the following points:

>> One in 20 kids were diagnosed with ADHD in the 1980s and ‘90s. One in nine are diagnosed with the condition today.

>> Too many diagnoses of ADHD are made on the basis of a 10- to 15-minute visit to a pediatrician’s office, without the doctor taking a thorough history.

>> Government policies, like No Child Left Behind, are a major force in the rise in diagnosis and ADHD prescriptions written.

Already have questions for the expert? Post them in advance to this blog post using the comments box below.



Can't make this webinar?
Sign up to receive email updates from ADDitude magazine, and we'll notify you about upcoming ADHD expert webinars.


 
 
Copyright © 1998 - 2013 New Hope Media LLC. All rights reserved. Your use of this site is governed by our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.
ADDitude does not provide medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. The material on this web site is provided for educational purposes only. See additional information.
New Hope Media, 39 W. 37th Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10018